Compare MS SQL and Oracle RDBMS (part 1)

I would like to start this post with a personal experience. I am in IT industry more then fifteen years mostly using Oracle based technologies. I used to work as a developer, designer and administrator as well. Today’s, During my daily work mostly I work as a project DBA. Sometime I meet with some astonishing and very interesting issues in the world of the Oracle database. Sometimes I manage to solve the issues myself, sometimes I have to use the web.

Few weeks ago I had a MS SQL database administration course. Can you imagine how felt about it? Of course I know other databases are exists in the word but now I had to felt the real experiences and I had to see how the different platform are same. So I decided, I start to write a series where I start to compare and show the differences and the similarities between the platforms.

Oracle is still the world’s most popular database primarily because it runs on many platform and it is very flexible, we can set almost everything. MS-SQL on the other hand, is a Windows-only offering, and it is very close, many things is hiding from us. Both SQL Server and Oracle are relational databases, but you will surprise how similar and they getting closer between each other.

Today I try to collect all of the topics what I would like to expand in the next few post.

– Platform SQL standard dependency
– Locking and concurrency, SQL mechanism how they work inside
– Performance & tuning
– Object Types and other features for developer
– Procedural languages (PL/SQL vs. T-SQL)
– Clustering Technology, high availability, reliability
– Additional Features of interest, benchmarking
– Total cost of ownership

I do not want to make highlight of any product, I try to be objective as much as possible.  If you have any suggestion of the topics, please do not hesitate to comment it.

Author: gyzszabo

IT Architect ...

1 thought on “Compare MS SQL and Oracle RDBMS (part 1)”

Leave a Reply

