PowerShell support in Hyper-V 3.0

I’ve been using Hyper-V since the first version in Windows Server 2008. I like it very much, I’m using it in my test environments, and at various customers.

One thing which I missed from the very beginning is the PowerShell support for Hyper-V. Managing Hyper-V is easy, but I need automation very often. I use the cmdlets written by CodePlex, but the problem is that it needs to be installed, therefore I can’t build always on this.

One of the first things I’ve checked in Windows 8 Server  was the PowerShell support. Yes! Now with Hyper-V 3.0 there are approximately 150 PowerShell cmdlets for Hyper-V.

At first try I listed my VMs, and started one on my brand new Hyper-V host.

List VMs using Get-VM:

Start , and stop a VM:

 

Leave a Reply

