Installing and configuring Office Web Apps – Part 1

This post is part of a series.

Installing and configuring Office Web Apps – Part 1 – This article

Installing and configuring Office Web Apps – Part 2 – about cache configuration and OWA related features

Big picture

I have a SharePoint farm with 2 servers. I would like to introduce Office Web Apps into the farm and offer the services for a web application, mainly the external sites, but leaving the internal sites as they are. I also want to separate the OWA cache from my content database. My plan is to run OWA services only on one host.

Planned service applications look like this:

Planned Service applications infrastructure
Planned Service applications infrastructure

Deploying Office Web Apps

In this section I write down my deployment from downloading the binaries to have the Excel Calculation Services, PowerPoint service and Word Viewing Service available among Services on server.

I already had an existing configured SharePoint farm with 2 servers so I followed the Install and configure Office Web Apps on an existing SharePoint server farm part of the related article on technet.

First of all I uploaded the installation files to both servers, then started the setup.exe on the first server.

OWA Installation files
OWA Installation files

After providing the product key and accepting the licensing terms I left the file locations as they were and clicked Install.

In case something goes wrong check the setup log files, located in %tmp% folder with the name Wac Server SetupXXXXXX.log

Installation is not finished yet, I had to run SharePoint Products Configuration Wizard to have the services and service applications on my servers.

But first things first, I had to run the installation on all of my servers before running psconfig, that’s crucial, I left the screen as it is and went on my other machine and installed Office Web Apps binaries on that host as well.

All of my servers had the binaries, I started the psconfig on the first one.

SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard
SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard welcome

I accepted that a few IIS service will be restarted then I left the radio button on the Do not disconnect from this server farm option and clicked next.

SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard farm settings
SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard farm settings

Nothing to do on the next screen, kicked off the wizard by clicking next button.

SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard completing
SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard completing

The configuration started…

SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard - configuring
SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard - configuring

..and finished after a few minutes.

SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard finished
SharePoint Products and Configuration wizard finished

After all I was on my Central administration site to start the Farm configuration wizard, but I did not do that, because I had to run the SharePoint Products and configuration wizard on the other machine too and I wanted to setup the services, service applications and association myself.

Farm configuration wizard
Farm configuration wizard

After Cancelled the Farm configuration wizard I did the same steps on the other server, so in the end I had installed Office Web Apps on my SharePoint 2010 server farm.

At this point I had:

  • Office Web Apps binaries on both servers
  • SharePoint products and configuration wizard ran on both servers

At this moment you might want to enable the Open Documents in Client Applications by Default feature on the already up and running site collections to avoid users getting error messages when they are trying to open documents. More on that feature later.

Configuring services and service applications

In this section I provision the service applications and associate them only to a new web application.

After the aforementioned steps I had Excel Calculation Services, PowerPoint service and Word Viewing Service available among Services on server page in Central Administration.

SharePoint services on KZOLTANEMS
SharePoint services on KZOLTANEMS

Because my initial plan was to provide the OWA services only on one server, I switched on my WSSENG01 host and simply started the services.

Starting OWA services on WSSENG01
Starting OWA services on WSSENG01

Service Application configuration was the next step. My plan was to provide OWA services to my external web application only. This means I had to create a new Application services proxy group and associate the 3 new service applications with it.

I went to Central administration > Application management > Manage service applications

From the New menu I selected Excel Services Application

New service application
New service application

Then I gave it a descriptive name, created a new application pool with a name OfficeWebApps (and I used this for the other 2) and selected a managed account to use. Most importantly, I did not add this Service application’s proxy to the default proxy group.

New Excel services application
New Excel services application

Next I created PowerPoint Service Application on Central administration > Application management > Manage service applications page, clicking New > PowerPoint Service Application.

This time I used the precreated application pool (OfficeWebApps) and did not add to the default proxy group.

New PowerPoint service application
New PowerPoint service application

Finally I created Word viewing service application on Central administration > Application management > Manage service applications page, clicking New > Word Viewing Service.

Used the same settings as with PowerPoint and clicked OK.

New Word viewing service application
New Word viewing service application

My service applications are up and running.

I check the service applications proxy groups and confirmed that they were not added to the default group on Central administration > Application management > Configure service applications association page.

Default proxy group after service applications provisioned
Default proxy group after service applications provisioned

I tried to add a new group but could not find any options on the GUI, I had to use powershell.

The powershell command to create a new Proxy Group:

New-SPServiceApplicationProxyGroup

New proxy group creation
New proxy group creation

Simply write the desired name after, and voila, a new group is created.

To add a proxy to the group I used the Add-SPServiceApplicationProxyGroupMember command with 2 parameters, the proxy group and the service application proxy.

Add-SPServiceApplicationProxyGroupMember “LetitknowEXT” -Member (Get-SPServiceApplicationProxy | where {$_.displayname -eq “Word viewing”})

Add-SPServiceApplicationProxyGroupMember “LetitknowEXT” -Member (Get-SPServiceApplicationProxy | where {$_.displayname -eq “Excel Services”})

Add-SPServiceApplicationProxyGroupMember “LetitknowEXT” -Member (Get-SPServiceApplicationProxy | where {$_.displayname -eq “PowerPoint Proxy”})

Finally I listed the proxy groups with the Get-SpServiceApplicationProxyGroup command

Add members to proxy group
Add members to proxy group

It is also possible to do the steps (except proxy group creation) from the GUI. Just go to Central administration > Application management > Configure service applications page and click on the group name.

Proxy group on the GUI
Proxy group on the GUI

Finally, I went to Central administration > Application management > Manage Web Applications and clicked on New to create a new web application with the name Letitknowext. Under the Service Application Connections section I selected letitknowEXT as the group for this web app, offering Office Web Apps features.

Service application connection during web app creation
Service application connection during web app creation

To test the solution I created a site collection and uploaded a document to a library. Opening the document as the next step, it opened in the browser.

Word document in Internet Explorer
Word document in Internet Explorer

Unfortunately I am not finished, I still need to take care of the followings:

  • Office Web Apps configuration
  • Default opening behaviour
  • Cache database configuration

Next article will go into these details.

3 thoughts on “Installing and configuring Office Web Apps – Part 1”

  1. The 1935 error is a very common error which typically shows when you try and install Microsoft Office 2007 or 2010 on your system. It basically means that your system cannot install the Office program(s) onto your system as they either have a problem, or are damaged. The main cause of this problem is actually due to the .NET framework of your PC being incompatible with the Office program, meaning that if you want to repair this error, you should look at fixing the .NET installation on your PC.

  2. Hi there, this is a good article. Thanks for your efforts. 🙂

    On Microsoft’s Technet page:- http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff431687.aspx#bkmk_ins_exis_sa – it is advised not to install Office Web Apps on a Domain Controller, with an “Important” warning!. Can anyone explain why not?

    In a particular setup I am installing, I have no choice but to install it on the DC, as this is a small 5 user network with 1 server running Win Srv 2008 R2 x64 Standard Edition, with Exchange Srv 2010 & SharePoint Foundation 2010. The Server also run DNS, DHCP and Symantec Backup Exec 2012 Small Business Edition.

    I have successfully setup the Server akin to an SBS2011 system where Exchange and SharePoint co-exist on the same box without issues at all.

    What are the implications of installing Office Web Apps 2010 in to this environment, since there is no scope to finance a second server license, be it Virtual or Physical?

Leave a Reply

